The Longer I Wait…

…the more stuff I get to show off at once. Flimsy excuses for laziness notwithstanding, I have indeed accrued a sizable quantity of new items from various orders since the start of the new year, and I thought I’d take this chance to catalog them all before I start forgetting what is or is not “new,” per se.

Listed in no particular order:

  • Akiyama Mio figure by Alter
  • Fujibayashi Ryou prize figure by FuRyu
  • Alicia Melchiott and Isasa Gunther prize figures by Sega
  • Asahina Mikuru Waitress Version gashapon
  • Miles Edgeworth Ace Attorney Investigations for DS
  • Half-Minute Hero for PSP
  • Dead Space for Xbox 360
  • PSP 1000 with soft case
  • 10 miscellaneous PSP games
  • Omamori Himari Intro CD Oshichauzo!
  • Omamori Himari Ending CD BEAM my BEAM
  • Umineko no Naku Koro ni Characted CD 1
  • Omamori Himari manga volume 2
  • Neon Genesis Evangelion Perfect Collection
  • Animelo 2009 booklet
  • Autographed sketch by Summer Wars director Hosoda Mamoru

Not too shabby, if it’s not too presumptuous to say so.

I’ve had this on pre-order for ages, so naturally I was thrilled when it finally shipped out from HLJ. Soon after, though, I remembered that I was (and still am) far too cheap to spring for EMS when SAL is available, and thus resolved to wait the typical two weeks until it should show up. It arrived after three and a half.

I had managed to collect all five of the Kotobukiya Clannad figures, but Ryou was not included in that set. This is understandable, as Ryou is not a heroine of her own right in Clannad, but rather a side character primarily featured in Kyou’s path/arc. Regardless, I was disappointed, as she is one of my favorite characters from the series, and my collection felt incomplete without her. When I spotted this prize figure for only 1500 yen, I put in an order straight away, and I couldn’t be happier with her.

I also happen to be a huge fan of Valkyria Chronicles, and I was very disappointed when I saw the price tags on what few scale figures from the game/anime were being released. I could not afford them when they were released, and the after-market is even worse. So, once again, prize figures came to the rescue, still at just 1500 yen apiece. I have to say that the quality of these figures is superb for such a low price.

Anyone else who can’t wait for Valkyria Chronicles 2 to come out?

This was a freebie that came with an order from YesAsia. Yes, I did give them another chance despite my earlier rant, and this time around I’ll admit that there were no problems whatsoever. You get to pick between sets of gashapon figures if you order certain items, and I was lucky enough to get the one I wanted the most out of a possible five.

These are just some games that I’ve bought since Christmas. I’ve had Ace Attorney on pre-order for a long time, but Dead Space and Half-Minute Hero were impulse eBay buys. I managed to get good deals on both, but I haven’t had a chance to start either of them yet. I have finished Ace Attorney already though, and this installment reaffirmed my love for the series. It was a shock being out of the courtroom at first, but you get used to it fairly quickly.

Funny story behind this group of items. You’re going to hate me for this:

I paid $60 in total for all of it. And yes, I am laughing right now.

My brother was essentially done with his PSP, so I offered to buy it and all his games from him, originally at a higher price. While we were discussing it, I recalled that he had the Evangelion set lying around, and he agreed to sell that to me as well. Here’s the weird part: it was cell phone-upgrading season for our family plan around then, and my brother cooked up a clever idea to use the deals being offered in such a way that he and the family could get nicer-than-typical new models on the cheap. The gigantic catch to his plan was that one family member would have forgo getting a new phone altogether, keeping an older one instead. I hardly use mine, so I volunteered, and my brother insisted that he make it up to me somehow. I asked for a discount on the sale, he slashed the price significantly, and we called it square.

It was definitely worth it.

I thoroughly enjoyed Umineko, and despite what anyone may say I am very much enjoying Omamori Himari as well. That includes the music, and I’m glad to have the actual CDs of some of my favorite songs from those series. If you’re a Yui Horie fan and you haven’t heard Happy Halloween Maria, you should remedy that posthaste.

Yes, this is in Japanese, and no, I can’t read it. Yet. For now, I bought it for personal collector’s value, though I hope to be able to read it someday. I bought volume 1 as a souvenir when I was in Japan, and when I needed a few extra dollars on my YesAsia order to qualify for free shipping, I decided to follow up with this.

As you may have heard, MIT hosted the U.S. premier of Hosoda Mamoru’s newest movie Summer Wars, at which he himself was in attendance. Plus, it was free! I live in a suburb, but I trekked up into Boston to see it. After the movie I listened to the entire Q&A session with Hosoda-san, and got in line for an autograph. The line was short but took forever, but that was only because Hosoda-san was taking the time to talk to each person, despite it being quite late at night by then. The only paper I had on me was the map I had used to get from the T station to MIT proper, but he gave me an autographed sketch of the main heroine Natsuki (with nekomimi) on the back. I got home at 12:30 on a school night, but it was absolutely worth it. I haven’t mentioned it yet because…well…I didn’t bring my camera. I thought it imprudent at first to bring a camera to a movie screening, but I later learned that it would have been perfectly fine. And hey, I’ve got an autographed sketch to remember it by.

As for the Animelo booklet, I got it from a giveaway on The-O Network. It has a page for every artist that played at the Animelo Summer Live 2009 concert. I was shocked when I learned that I, of all people, had actually won one of the available third-prizes, but I was delighted all the same.

This awesome Valkyria Chronicles cloth poster ran me only $13 on eBay. I decided to take a chance with a Hong Kong seller since the price was so low, and I’m very satisfied with it. It smelled like paint for some time, but that faded quickly enough.

Here are some other photos I took:

That’s it for today. Thanks for reading.

0 Responses to “The Longer I Wait…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

