September Loot

My “best” efforts to save money for larger purchases I plan to make are not proving quite as effective as I had envisioned.  Pity.

The plus in this dismal failure of my self-control is that I’ve made some new acquisitions.

September 2009 LootThe combination of trying not to buy any figures and being hopelessly unable to resist buying figures led to my purchasing several figmas, as they are traditionally less expensive than the PVC statue variety.  I got the Hatsune Miku figma from a sale at Lovelyduckie’s blog.  I was very fortunate in finding it, as I got an excellent deal AND free shipping on this only slightly used figure, which is in perfect condition.  I’m completely satisfied with the purchase, and I’d definitely recommend buying from her if you see something you want.

Tohsaka was actually a birthday present that only recently arrived, since SAL shipping takes forever. Likewise, I bought Saber soon after my birthday with some of the money I got from relatives, and by chance they both arrived on the same day.  Import shipping is expensive, so getting two separately shipped HLJ boxes on the same day was a pretty aggravating sight, even if I only paid for one of them personally.

That, however, was nothing compared to my experience with getting Drossel.  I won her on eBay for a reasonable price, compared to the prices I usually see her fetch on auction.  Of course, it occurred to me minutes after I won to make one last check to make sure I couldn’t find her somewhere else for less.  It was then that I discovered that HLJ was going to restock them in October, and that I had just overpaid by at least $15.

It would have been more bearable if it had ended there, but it never ends “there.”  The figma was new and unopened, as promised by the seller, so I thought I was in the clear.  I picked it up to test the joints and what have you, and no sooner had I touched her right hand when I heard that dreaded snap, coupled with the faint sound of Misfortune laughing hysterically at me.

I was so shocked by the experience that I didn’t make a photographic record, hence the text-heavy post (sorry about that).  Basically, I tried all manner of pocketknives, pins, and tweezers, succeeding only in pushing the peg in deeper and scratching up the peg-hole rather badly.  I think the point of a sewing needle might still be lodged in there somewhere.  Anyway, I gave up and asked my father for help, and he miraculously happened to have a drill-bit thin enough to clear the hole.  We obliterated the peg rather than save it, so I’ve got one useless Drossel hand now, but figmas always have plenty of replacements, thankfully.  Since the hole was a little wider than it used to be, my father had the clever idea of wedging a tiny bit of thin wire in with the replacement hand.  The new hand fits about as well as it used to, and it’s actually not too difficult to change.

In the end, my Drossel has some scratches and some weakened joints (from holding it forcefully while trying to jam my ill-chosen tools between the peg and the arm), but it’s still useable, thankfully.

Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days and PostcardsMy last purchase this month was Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days for the DS.  I had preordered this, so I got some gifts along with the game.  The first item was this set of four postcards, which are pretty cool.  When I read about the preorder gift way back when, I remember it saying that your friends will think you are writing from the world of Kingdom Hearts, or something.  If that were true, then it seems much less likely that they would look the way they do.

Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days PosterThe second item was this surprisingly large poster.  I was quite impressed when I unrolled this; it’s much nicer that I assumed it would be.  I’m particularly partial to how they chose to use art rather than images of the actual graphics.  It just makes for a better poster image in my opinion.

Well, that’s all for this month’s loot.  I apologize for the long-winded post this time, but I didn’t have time to take very many pictures.  I really am going to try to save money this time around, so you can look forward to the results of my failing to do so.  Thanks for reading!

3 Responses to “September Loot”


  1. 1 moemoekyun October 1, 2009 at 12:13 am

    wow miku hatsune I though it was sold out everywhere >_<

    • 2 moemoekyun October 1, 2009 at 12:16 am

      oh you buy from someone ^^;
      nice loot can you show me how fix your drossel ?

      • 3 Archangel Shear October 1, 2009 at 8:32 pm

        Thanks! I explained how I fixed Drossel’s hand socket in the post, but the short version is that I took a drill to the stuck peg and destroyed it. Then I jammed a bit of wire between the socket and the new hand to make it fit well. Probably other ways to do it, but this worked for me ^_^


Leave a Reply

